greg & the hawk covers nirvana

Source: 5 Acts

Brooklyn’s Meredith Godreau, a.k.a. Gregory and the Hawk, is in a league of her own. She’s recorded her most recent two albums totally transparently. Throughout the songs, you can hear the computer click as tracks are being added or omitted, the lo-fi white noise of a mid-grade mic, and lots of other really interesting stuff going on which indicates– believe it or not– that a human is creating the music. I love it– her musical style is one of my greatest influences.

Today, she posted a link to a cover she recorded of Nirvana’s “Come As You Are.” She’s got this innate ability to make any song uniquely hers which, in my opinion, is the only context under which covers should ever be published.

Gregroy and the Hawk is one of my favorites, and you’ll definitely hear more about her from me. In the meantime, here’s some of her older work that, in my opinion, is straight-up golden:

my favorite album of hers:

amazing cover on the harp:

 

Leave a comment